Australia crush Pakistan by 10 wickets to win T20 series – Sport

The ruthless opening pair Aaron Finch and David Warner raged when Australia defeated Pakistan by 10 wickets in Perth to conclude their Twenty20 2-0 series on Friday emphatically.

After restricting visitors to 106 by eight, Finch (52) and Warner (48) hit five six and eight four between them as they ran to the finish line without losing.

The local team won in Canberra for seven wickets, thanks to a brilliant 80 not thrown by Steve Smith, and they were on their way to also succeed in Sydney just because of the rain to save the visitors.

Their victory in Perth leads them to an impressive winning streak of eight games in the short format as they move towards the T20 World Cup in their homeland next year.

“Really proud of the boys with the way we apply in recent weeks. Every time we introduce ourselves in training, we are improving and that is very important, ”said Captain Finch.

"We are growing as a team and hope there are great things to come." In contrast, Pakistan is fighting and has now lost five of its last six.

Despite the bad run, which included a shameful 3-0 defeat at home against Sri Lanka, which cost the captaincy to Sarfaraz Ahmed, they remain number one in the ranking.

But their cricket bosses will be worried about the two tests against Australia, which will begin this month in Brisbane.

“Very disappointed, but we lost to a good team. We have learned a lot from this series and we will take the positive aspects and we will return strongly in the next series, ”said Captain Babar Azam.

"As a captain, I also learned a lot personally, but there is a long way to go." After being sent to bat at Perth Arena, the 45th of Iftikhar Ahmed was Pakistan's only resistance in a repeated poor batting performance against quality bowling. , directed by Kane Richardson, who took three wickets.

In a quick and abrupt launch, Finch and Warner showed no pity in the response, exposing Pakistan's young and fragile attack.

The explosive Warner struck Mohammad Amir for six in the first round and there was no turning back in a show of power shots by the two men.

Pakistan made four changes with Imam ul-Haq and Mohammad Hasnain entering and debuting delivered to hitter Khushdil Shah and bowler Muhammad Musa.

Only Azam and Ahmed have shown signs of life in the batting department this series and, again, no one else stood up.

Azam had reached 50s in a row in the previous games, but fell early, beating Mitchell Starc by six.

The Australian fast bowler then broke the stumps of Mohammad Rizwan's next ball with a scorching inswinger, leaving Pakistan with 15 for two.

The ul-Haq opener, in the Fakhar Zaman out of shape, did not fare much better.

He reached two limits in his 14 before missing a shot by Sean Abbott, playing his first international since 2014, so that Ben McDermott takes an easy catch.

Haris Sohail failed again, blurring a shot from Ashton Agar, while Shah lasted 11 balls for his eight runs. Imad Wasim also fell at a low price.

When Ahmed, who scored a quick shot 62 at Canberra, finally looked for a limit against Richardson, he left the tailenders to at least make sure his team reached three figures.


Australia: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Steve Smith, Ben McDermott, Ashton Turner, Alex Carey (wk), Ashton Agar, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Billy Stanlake

Pakistan: Imam Ul Haq, Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Muhammad Musa



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here