Trio wins 2019 Nobel economics prize for creating approach to fight poverty – World

Economists Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer won the 2019 Nobel Prize in Economics for creating an experimental approach to alleviate world poverty, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said on Monday.

"This year's winners have introduced a new approach to obtaining reliable answers on the best ways to combat global poverty," the academy said in a statement.

The economic prize of 9 million Swedish kronor ($ 915,300) is a subsequent addition to the five prizes created by the will of the industrial inventor and dynamite Alfred Nobel, established by the Swedish central bank and awarded for the first time in 1969.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here