IIE Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education 2020

Deadline: October 19, 2019

IIE Andrew Heiskell applied for the 2020 International Education Innovation Award. In 2001, IIE received this award to encourage and encourage the most outstanding initiatives that IIENetwork member universities and colleges perform in international higher education.

In particular, we are interested in highlighting innovative initiatives or programs that address specific needs, remove institutional barriers, and broaden our involvement in international education and learning on campus. The winning initiative does not have to be the largest or largest. You need to bring innovative approaches and new resources to address your needs or take advantage of new opportunities.

IIE hopes to encourage the expansion and creation of programs based on this successful model by recognizing excellence and innovation. There are four award categories in 2020, and all winners are recognized as part of the IIE Best Practice Conference in New York City, March 19-20, 2020.


  • Category 1: Campus Internationalization: Promoting campus internationalization through facilitating curriculum development, fostering international opportunities, industry integration and creative programming. (Recommendations in this category should focus on specific programs or initiatives, not on broad internationalization plans)
  • Category 2: Study Abroad: We offer innovative programs and services to make your study abroad more accessible.
  • Category 3: International Partnership Best Practices: Recognize strategic, comprehensive and innovative international partnership efforts that demonstrate strong, sustainable links between higher education institutions or other agencies such as governments, communities, and NGOs.
  • Category 4: Community College Campus Internationalization: Create innovative programs and services that enable community college students to take advantage of international opportunities.


  • The award program is widely recognized at the IIE Best Practices Conference featured on the IIE website and the IIENetworker magazine.
  • Winners will be awarded awards, prizes of $ 1,000 (shared by the winning organizations in the Partnership category), and NYC travel expenses for official awards.


  • Only IIENetwork member organizations can apply and encourage new members to join IIENetwork and submit their nominations.
  • US and international (non-US) members welcome applications.

Selection criteria

When selecting a winner, the selection panel takes into account the degree of success of the program in some of the following areas: However, not all of these guidelines apply to each program.

  • Innovative approach development
  • Remove barriers or broaden international education
  • Demonstrate strong indicators and documented results
  • Develop a public, private or nonprofit partnership
  • Cooperate with agencies in other countries


Click here to recommend

For more information visit: Andrew Heiskell Awards.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here